A retraction

So it’s 10:00 pm on Friday night, and I haven’t written a fairy tale in 2 days. I’m afraid I shall have to (at least temporarily) retract my promise to publish a tale every day. My sincerest apologies.

You see, we’re at a family retreat, and while I had hoped to be able to continue to write while I’m here, it’s not working out that way.

It’s not that I don’t have time…there are plenty of moments when I could have sat down and punched out some words on my laptop. The real issue is that I’m an introvert in a non-stop social environment right now, and during the occasional hour I have to myself, I find that I need to just decompress and rest, so that I can re-engage socially again at the next event or meal.

I wish that writing could function as that decompression time for me, but it doesn’t. Whether it’s because I’m just creatively sapped from all the interaction, or whether it’s because spending time with my characters feels almost like yet another social engagement, I haven’t been able to sit down and bring their stories to life these last 36 hours.

But don’t worry…I have characters and plots floating around in my mind, gaining more and more coherence as the hours go by. Soon I will share them with you all. Please be patient. And please stay tuned!

I’m so grateful to all of you who are reading and who have sent me encouraging messages about how much you’re enjoying the stories. Writing is my great passion and I am so happy to be able to share my tales with you all.

As Christopher Robin wrote in his ill-fated note to Winnie-the-Pooh and friends: “Gon Out. Bisy. Backson.”

~Sarah

Leave a Reply

